School Board

About the Board...


BISD is governed by seven elected individuals who review and approve budget and other policies to ensure adherence to all state educational standards and regulations.


The Board of Trustees holds its regular monthly meeting on the third Thursday of each month.

The Bynum Independent School District would like to thank our board members for the countless contributions of these dedicated community leaders. "Our local school board members work tirelessly and devote hundreds of hours to lead our students to success. A small "Thank You"  is one small way that we can show our appreciation to their service to our community and for caring so much about the future of every child enrolled in our schools." according to Larry Mynarcik, Bynum ISD Superintendent.

School Board members shoulder critical responsibilities as advocates for our children. They face difficult challenges and make hard decisions with the overall goal of promoting student achievement. Working as a vital link between the community and the classroom, the board is responsible for an annual budget of $2.4 million, 210 students, and 32 employees. They serve as the passionate voice for public education and help ensure the future of our state and nation. We truly appreciate every board member for voluntarily tackling the enormous job of governing our local school districts.

The board members serving Bynum Independent School District are:

President- Robert Hopson
Vice President- Griff Harris
Secretary- Tim Helms
Member- Kelly Cordell
Member- Craig Tipton
Member- Shawn Young
Member- Kristin McGinty